Sinister Resonance: The Mediumship of the Listener

Sinister Resonance: The Mediumship of the Listener

By: David Toop (author)Paperback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


This is a major new work from one of the world's most erudite, intellectual, and influential thinkers and writers about sound and music. "Sinister Resonance" begins with the premise that sound is a haunting, a ghost, a presence whose location is ambiguous and whose existence is transitory. The intangibility of sound is uncanny - a phenomenal presence in the head, at its point of source and all around. The close listener is like a medium who draws out substance from that which is not entirely there. The history of listening must be constructed from the narratives of myth and fiction, 'silent' arts such as painting, the resonance of architecture, auditory artefacts and nature. In such contexts, sound often functions as a metaphor for mystical revelation, forbidden desires, formlessness, the unknown, and the unconscious. As if reading a map of hitherto unexplored territory, "Sinister Resonance" deciphers sounds and silences buried within the ghostly horrors of Arthur Machen, Shirley Jackson, Charles Dickens, M.R. James and Edgar Allen Poe, Dutch genre painting from Rembrandt to Vermeer, artists as diverse as Francis Bacon and Juan Munoz, and the writing of many modernist authors including Virginia Woolf, Samuel Beckett, and James Joyce.

About Author

David Toop is a musician, writer, and sound curator. His acclaimed books include Rap Attack, Ocean of Sound, Exotica, and Haunted Weather. His writing has also appeared in The Wire, Bookforum, and the New York Times. He lives in London.


Section one: Aerial; 1. Drowned by voices; 2. Each echoing opening; each muffled closure; 3. Dark senses; 4. Writhing sigla; 5. The jagged dog; Section two: Vessels and Volumes; 6. Act of silence; 7. Art of silence; 8. A conversation piece; Section three: Spectral; 9. Chair creaks, but no one sits there; Section four: Interior Resonance; 10. Snow falling on snow; Coda: Distant Voices; Acknowledgements; Notes; Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781441155870
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9781441155870
  • ISBN10: 1441155872

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly