Sneaky Kid and Its Aftermath: Ethics and Intimacy in Fieldwork

Sneaky Kid and Its Aftermath: Ethics and Intimacy in Fieldwork

By: Johnny Saldana (author), Harry F. Wolcott (author), John Singleton (foreword_author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Here, Wolcott presents the full story of his intimate and tumultuous relationship with the young man who was the subject of his long-term study on how the educational system can fail students-The Brad Trilogy-and the firestorm it caused. Written in Wolcott's masterful style, the case offers an ideal starting point for discussing the complex public and personal dimensions of qualitative research with students.

About Author

Harry F. Wolcott (1929-2012) was professor emeritus in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Oregon and a leading author in anthropology and research methods. Wolcott's major works include anthropological studies of American education: Teachers Versus Technocrats and The Man in the Principal's Office: An Ethnography. He also wrote extensively on fieldwork and writing: Transforming Qualitative Data; The Art of Fieldwork; Ethnography: A Way of Seeing; and Writing Up Qualitative Data and is the author of the more recent Sneaky Kid and Its Aftermath: Ethics and Intimacy in Fieldwork (all published by AltaMira Press). Johnny Saldana is a Professor of Theatre at Arizona State University, and his studies in qualitative research range from ethnography to ethnotheatre. He has written several articles on theatre teachers' perceptions of their practice, and young people's development as audiences and artists. One of these studies includes the ethnodrama "Maybe someday, if I'm famous...", a one-act case study of an adolescent actor.


Part 1 Foreword Part 2 Introduction Part 3 Part One Chapter 4 Chapter 1: Adequate Schools and Inadequate Education: The Life History of a Sneaky Kid Chapter 5 Chapter 2: The Brad Saga Continues Chapter 6 Chapter 3: The Return Chapter 7 Chapter 4: Out Part 8 Part Two Chapter 9 Chapter 5: More Truth, More Consequences Chapter 10 Chapter 6: The Rebound Chapter 11 Chapter 7: A Play on Words Chapter 12 Chapter 8: Drawing Lessons Part 13 Appendix: A play, "Finding My Place: The Brad Trilogy" Part 14 References and Further Reading Part 16 Name Index Part 17 Subject Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780759103115
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 224
  • ID: 9780759103115
  • weight: 472
  • ISBN10: 0759103119

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly