Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris

Solitaire: A captivating novel of intrigue and survival in wartime Paris

By: Jane Thynne (author)Paperback

In Stock

£6.47 RRP £8.99  You save £2.52 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

TO SAVE HER OWN LIFE, WILL SHE SACRIFICE ANOTHER? June 1940: the first summer of the war. Berlin is being bombed and nightly blackouts suffocate the city. Then France falls and a shadow descends. A shadow has fallen over Clara Vine's own life, too. She is an Anglo-German woman in a country that hates England. Then she is summoned to meet the Propaganda minister, Joseph Goebbels, who has decided that Clara should adopt a new role - as his spy. Much as she dislikes the idea, Clara realises this might be the chance to find an escape route to England. But Goebbels has other ideas and soon Clara is drawn into a web that threatens to destroy her. As everything she holds dear is taken as ransom, she must fight to protect her family - and to survive... Solitaire delivers brilliantly engrossing wartime fiction for fans of Sadie Jones, Rosie Thomas and Irene Nemirovsky. Praise for Jane Thynne's Clara Vine novels: `An absolute cracker of a read...fast-paced and gripping from the start' Sunday Times `A thoroughly enjoyable read: fast-paced, atmospheric and genuinely suspenseful' Mail on Sunday `Terrific' Elizabeth Buchan

About Author

Jane Thynne was born in Venezuela and educated in London. She graduated from Oxford University with a degree in English and joined the BBC as a journalist. She has also worked at The Sunday Times, The Daily Telegraph and The Independent, as well as for numerous British magazines. She appears as a broadcaster on Radio 4. Jane is married to the writer Philip Kerr. They have three children and live in London. Find out more at www.janethynne.com connect with her on Facebook or follow her on Twitter @janethynne

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781471155819
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 464
  • ID: 9781471155819
  • ISBN10: 1471155811

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close