Something Has to Happen Next (The Iowa Poetry Prize Series)

Something Has to Happen Next (The Iowa Poetry Prize Series)

By: Andrew Michael Roberts (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


The poems in ""Something has to Happen Next"", if given the chance, might peer down inquisitively from a great height; they speak of quietness, namelessness, the reachlessness of love, the fortune of animals and their silence, apocalypse, abandonment, beginnings, and endings. Working with brevity and compression, Andrew Michael Roberts first imagines how small he can go with a poem and still maintain some sort of emotional or imagistic center. Then, released from this limitation, the rest of his playful, unexpected poems expand to fill a world with imagery, emotion, and sound. What Roberts calls 'simply a book of small poems' grew out of his obsessions with time and catastrophe and love and abandonment - what is always possible, almost attained, but lost at the last minute. When something ends or when everything ends, something else must always happen next - what will it be, and who will be there to name and love and destroy it?

About Author

Andrew Michael Roberts is the author of Dear Wild Abandon, selected for a 2007 PSA National Chapbook Award, and Give Up. His poems can be found in journals such as Tin House, the Iowa Review, LIT, the Colorado Review, and Gulf Coast.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781587297946
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 70
  • ID: 9781587297946
  • ISBN10: 1587297949

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly