Specials: Based on the BBC TV Drama Series: The Complete Novels in One Volume

Specials: Based on the BBC TV Drama Series: The Complete Novels in One Volume

By: Brian Degas (author), Harry Robertson (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£9.35 RRP £12.99  You save £3.64 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


This novel, based on the groundbreaking BBC TV drama series, shows how it takes both guts and a sense of humour to become a part-time policeman. It was adapted by the series' creators from all twelve episodes, four of which are published here for the first time. `You'll learn what it's like out there in the streets, and we'll learn whether you're competent to wear the uniform.' From nine to five, they are like the rest of us. Come the twilight, they don the blue uniform with pride, and volunteer their spare time to share the night vigil of the Bobby on the beat. BOB LOACH, a partner in a coach tour business, is `all grease and few graces', with an ambition to be the first millionaire Special. ANJALI SHA is an NHS physiotherapist who treads the minefield of conflicting traditions: `My family think it's a bad business for a well brought-up Hindu girl to prowl the streets at night with a man.' JOHN REDWOOD is a solicitor with an unshakable belief in the decency of his fellow-man. VIV SMITH is a young bank clerk: `It might come as a surprise to you, Sarge, but not all women come with a built-in maternal expertise of how to deal with kids.' And FREDDY CALDER, an overweight salesman of ladies' lingerie, conceals a shy and sentimental heart under a brash exterior. Five ordinary people whose commitment makes them extraordinary.

About Author

BRIAN DEGAS's is a writer-producer whose impressive career includes `Vendetta', `Death is a Good Living', `The Venturers', and `Colditz', as well as contributing to series such as `Shirley MacLaine' and movies including `Summertime Killer' and `Barbarella'. HARRY ROBERTSON was an accomplished composer and musical director who also wrote and produced for film and television, including `Hawk the Slayer' and `Jane and the Lost City'. He died in 1992 shortly after completing `Specials'.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780008260590
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 512
  • ID: 9780008260590
  • weight: 310
  • ISBN10: 0008260591

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly