Tam Lin (Spotlights Series)

Tam Lin (Spotlights Series)

By: Lin Marsh (composer)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Tam Lin is part of the Junior Spotlights series, designed for Key Stage 2 children. There are thirteen fun and imaginative songs by Lin Marsh that have been written with the range and capabilities of this age group in mind. This musical, based on a celtic folk legend, lends itself to the addition of movement and some optional descant lines have been added. The book comes with a CD and photocopiable lyrics. You can also download the Tam Lin: Extended Script - a dramatisation by Wendy Cook to extend the 30-minute cantata to a 60-minute performance, preserving the songs while adding script and action, so that the piece can be performed as an evening's entertainment in a primary school (see associated downloads, below). Tam Lin is a scottish folk tale telling the story of Janet, a young girl who lives in a castle with her father. One day she runs to Cartehaugh forest where the handsome and Enchanted Tam Lin lives. Back at the castle, Janet cannot stop dreaming about this young man. Life goes on around her but she is drawn to the forest again. Tam Lin tells Janet he is bewitched: when he was a child, the Queen of the fairies caught him and put him under a spell, which can only be broken by a young maiden on Halloween night. Janet must wait while the fairies approach, watch the black horse and brown horse go by, then pull Tam Lin from his milk-white steed. He will change into various creatures but she must hold him tight until at last he is a burning ember. When she throws this into the well, Tam Lin will emerge and the spell will be broken. Janet bravely succeds in her task; together they escape the Fairy Queen and return to the castle where they are happily wed. The Spotlight Series represents a variety of imaginative repertoire for stage or concert performance, from Key Stage 1 to 3 (Scottish P1 to S2). Some of the cantatas provide scope for activity through the addition of movement, whilst others are fully contained 'mini-musicals'. Written appropriately for the age-group by experienced educational composers, here are songs and shows to suit all abilities and ages.


The Castle; Tam Lin's Story; Now The Cuckoo, She Sings; Never Go Near The Forest; Janet Tied Up Her Kirtle Green; Lady, Why d'You Pick The Rose?; Look Through The Window; Why Is This Creature Still Haunting My Dreams?; Harvest Time; Hurry Janet, Night Is Falling; Tam Lin, How Can I Save You?; Let Go By The Black Horse; The Spell, It Is Broken

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780571522958
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 48
  • ID: 9780571522958
  • weight: 188
  • ISBN10: 0571522955

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly