The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Macmillan Collector's Library)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Macmillan Collector's Library)

By: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (author)Hardback

In Stock

£2.24 RRP £8.99  You save £6.75 (75%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is perhaps the greatest collection of detective stories ever written. From his residence at 221B Baker Street, Sherlock Holmes solves a series of baffling and bizarre cases, including those of a man terrified by the arrival of an envelope containing orange pips, and a woman whose fiance disappeared on his way to their wedding. Each story showcases the great detective's inimitable and extraordinary deductive powers, recounted to us by his faithful friend and colleague, Dr Watson. This Macmillan Collector's Library edition features an afterword by David Stuart Davies - a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund and an authority on Sherlock Holmes. Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

About Author

Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859. He trained to be a doctor at Edinburgh University and eventually set up a medical practice in Southsea. During the quiet periods between patients, he turned his hand to writing, producing historical novels such as Micah Clarke and adventure yarns including The Lost World, as well as four novels and fifty-six stories involving his most celebrated creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. Doyle was knighted in 1902. In later life he devoted much of his time to his belief in Spiritualism, using his writing and celebrity as a means of providing funds to support activities in this field. He died in 1930.


Chapter - 1: A Scandal in Bohemia Chapter - 2: The Red-Headed League Chapter - 3: A Case of Identity Chapter - 4: The Boscombe Valley Mystery Chapter - 5: The Five Orange Pips Chapter - 6: The Man with the Twisted Lip Chapter - 7: The Blue Carbuncle Chapter - 8: The Speckled Band Chapter - 9: The Engineer's Thumb Chapter - 10: The Noble Bachelor Chapter - 11: The Beryl Coronet Chapter - 12: The Copper Beeches Section - i: Afterword Section - ii: Further Reading Section - iii: Biography

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781909621732
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 376
  • ID: 9781909621732
  • weight: 211
  • ISBN10: 1909621730

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly