The Best of Sherlock Holmes (Macmillan Collector's Library)

The Best of Sherlock Holmes (Macmillan Collector's Library)

By: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£6.47 RRP £8.99  You save £2.52 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Faithfully supported by his chronicler, Dr Watson, Sherlock Holmes pits his wits against 'Napoleon of Crime' Professor Moriarty, assists European royalty threatened by disgrace, helps to solve the mysterious death of a young woman due to be married, and investigates intrigues that have defeated the detectives of Scotland Yard. Packed with excitement and mystery, this collection showcases the legendary sleuth at his very best. This Macmillan Collector's Library edition features an afterword by David Stuart Davies, and accompanying each tale are Sidney Paget's fantastic original illustrations from The Strand magazine. Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

About Author

Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859. He trained to be a doctor at Edinburgh University and eventually set up a medical practice in Southsea. During the quiet periods between patients, he turned his hand to writing, producing historical novels such as Micah Clarke and adventure yarns including The Lost World, as well as four novels and fifty-six stories involving his most celebrated creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. Doyle was knighted in 1902. In later life he devoted much of his time to his belief in Spiritualism, using his writing and celebrity as a means of providing funds to support activities in this field. He died in 1930.


Chapter - 1: A Scandal in Bohemia Chapter - 2: The Red-Headed League Chapter - 3: The Boscombe Valley Mystery Chapter - 4: The Man With the Twisted Lip Chapter - 5: The Blue Carbuncle Chapter - 6: The Speckled Band Chapter - 7: Silver Blaze Chapter - 8: The Musgrave Ritual Chapter - 9: The Dancing Men Chapter - 10: The Solitary Cyclist Chapter - 11: Charles August Milverton Chapter - 12: The Six Napoleans Chapter - 13: The Abbey Grange Chapter - 14: The Second Stain Chapter - 15: The Devil's Foot Section - i: Afterword Section - ii: Biography Section - iii: Bibliography

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781909621992
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 544
  • ID: 9781909621992
  • weight: 287
  • ISBN10: 1909621994

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly