The Cookbook for Children with Special Needs: Learning a Life Skill with Fun, Tasty, Healthy Recipes

The Cookbook for Children with Special Needs: Learning a Life Skill with Fun, Tasty, Healthy Recipes

By: Deborah French (author), Leah Ehrlich (illustrator)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£13.79 RRP £14.99  You save £1.20 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Learning to cook not only equips children with a valuable life skill, but will help boost self-esteem in other areas of their lives. The book starts with a basic illustrated guide to where food comes from, the different food groups, how to create our own diet and why cooking is a great skill to master. Simple, step-by-step instructions accompanied by fun illustrations, guide children through three levels of cooking, starting with fundamental basics including the preparation of a wide variety of different foods, and building up to more complex recipes. Health and safety skills are taught as an essential part of the cooking activity and healthy eating habits are reinforced throughout. Parents and carers will find cooking with children with special needs to be enjoyable and rewarding with this book, which thoroughly prepares the child for the cooking experience. Teachers, activity organisers and anyone else working with children with special needs will also find this book to be a great resource for cooking inspiration.

About Author

Deborah French is a cookery teacher and activity coordinator for children and their families with special needs. She dedicates her time to creating opportunities for children with special educational needs to participate in regular activities whilst educating the wider community about the daily challenges that these children face. Deborah has a son on the autism spectrum, a daughter with Down syndrome and young twins, and believes that education breaks down barriers and paves the way for integration and acceptance. She and her family live in Israel.


Introduction. 1. The Story of Food. 2. Keeping Safe. 3. Getting Started. Level One Recipes. Introduction to Level One. 1. Peckish Pita Pieces. 2. Baker's Bread. 3. Double Bedded Eggys. 4. Cheesy Popeye Pancakes. 5. Loaded Potatoes. 6. Minestrone Madness. 7. Farfellino Pasta. 8. Fruit Mountain. 9. Sticky Chocolate Cornflakes. 10. Aunty Deb Choc Chunk Cookies. Level Two Recipes. Introduction to Level Two. 1. Pizza The Italiano. 2. Creamy Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon. 3 Mushroom and Pea Risotto. 4. Crispy Mac N Cheese. 5. Lentil Soup with Cheesy Garlic Bread. 6. Ocean Fishcakes. 7. Fish Fingers with Wild West Wedges. 8. Classic Victoria Sponge. 9. Vanilla Ice Cream. 10. Gooey Chocolate Brownies. Level Three Recipes. Introduction to Level Three. 1. Simply Chicken with Basmati Rice. 2. Classic Chicken Noodle Soup. 3. Crunchy Chicken with Sweet and Sour Cabbage. 4. Creamy Chicken Sandwich. 5. The Ultimate Burger. 6. Spaghetti Bolognaise. 7. Roasted Turkey with Sweet Potato and Pumpkin Mash. 8. Crunchy Apple Crumble. 9. Cinnamon Pancakes with Maple Butter Syrup. 10. My First Chocolate Cake. Menu Ideas. Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781849055383
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 200
  • ID: 9781849055383
  • weight: 764
  • ISBN10: 1849055386

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly