The Dalethorpe Chronicles

The Dalethorpe Chronicles

By: Lionel Ross (author)Paperback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


There had always been Olivers living in Dalethorpe. In fact, the village had been founded nearly twelve hundred years ago by the family's Viking ancestor, Karl Olafsen, and his Hebrew slave-girl wife, Rachel. For much of the last two hundred years most of the residents of the village owed their livelihoods to the Oliver family, who were both the local squires and mill-owners. However, once they had established their other family home in the leafy London suburb of Hampstead, their influence was felt well beyond the boundaries of the small East-Lancashire village. The family was simultaneously privileged and popular, but nothing could protect them from the tragedy, family feud and romantic, political and business machinations that all but overwhelmed them. All the elements are present for a remarkable family saga as Lionel's story strides through many of the defining events from the 19th and 20th centuries and onwards to the present day, culminating in the recent expenses scandal at the Palace of Westminster. Alongside all this runs the thread of the tantalising mystery of the sacred Viking Burial Mound at the end of their large garden and how its secrets would be drip-fed into the lives of this extraordinary family.

About Author

Lionel Ross was born in 1935 and lives in Manchester, England with his wife Luise. He has two sons and six grandchildren.He spent most of his working life in the textile industry but is now a full-time author and publisher. His first novel 'Fine Feathers,' was originally published by PublishAmerica in 2005 and received considerable critical acclaim. (Subsequently re-published in the UK by i2i Publishing) His second novel 'Hidden Heritage' (2006) launched him into the entirely new world of the Historical Saga. This was followed in 2007 by 'The Baghdad Declaration,' a thriller with the backdrop of the Iraq War. His 'best-selling' 'Men of Conviction' was published in July 2009 and is attracting an ever increasing readership. Late November 2011 marked the launch on Amazon of the audio book version of this most popular thriller.With The Dalethorpe Chronicles (2010) Lionel again wrote a family saga, this time with the backdrop of 19th 20th and 21st century British history.2012 marked the arrival 'Souls Apart - The Story of Britain in the Grip of a Tyrant' A fascinating political thriller about identical twins separated at birth.To satisfy many reader requests for a trilogy, 2013 marked the publication of ADOLPHUS, book one of the Bergman trilogy.(It is World War One and Adolphus is an officer in the Kaiser's army. His cousin Joseph, is a brave flyer in the Royal Flying Corp. Two young men with totally irreconcilable loyalties - or are they?)All Lionel Ross books are also available as eBooks on Amazon's Kindle. He has been publishing books for other authors for some years under the i2i Publishing imprint.Until recently Lionel was a member of the panel supplying a 'Thought' for the BBC Radio Manchester Sunday Morning programme where he discussed the newspapers with presenter Mike Shaft. Now with Sundays being allocated to travelling to branches of Waterstones and WH Smith for book signing events, his broadcast interviews are confined to other days of the week.You can see Lionel's interviews on Channel M TV when FINE FEATHERS and MEN OF CONVICTION were published. Just click on the video link. He is always pleased to promote his writing and publishing by attending book festivals, clubs and other interested organisations.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780956036971
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9780956036971
  • weight: 300
  • ISBN10: 095603697X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly