The Darkest Hour: A Novel

The Darkest Hour: A Novel

By: Tony Schumacher (author)Paperback

Only 1 in stock

£3.99 RRP £7.99  You save £4.00 (50%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

In this crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, a hardened, dispirited British detective jeopardizes his own life to save someone else and achieve the impossible some kind of redemptionLondon, 1946. The Nazis have won the war and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. They even use it to control those who work for them. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, is one of those unlucky souls. He's a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he didn't ask for and knows he cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. Robbed of his family by a Resistance bomb, and robbed of his humanity by the work he is forced to do, fate suddenly presents Rossett with an unexpected challenge that could change everything. He finds a boy hiding in an abandoned building and is faced with a momentous decision to do something or to look the other way. Yet whatever Rossett does, he will be pushed into a place where he could endanger all he holds dear.Played out against a city in ruin, a place divided between the conquered and the conquerors, The Darkest Hour is a tense, driving adventure thriller, a fascinating alternate history, and the unforgettable story of a man who will be broken or be given a completely new lease on life. "

About Author

Tony Schumacher is a native of Liverpool, England. He has written for the Guardian and the Huffington Post, and he is a regular contributor to BBC Radio and London's LBC Radio. He has been a policeman, stand-up comedian, bouncer, jeweler, taxi driver, perfume salesman, actor, and garbage collector, among other occupations. He currently lives outside of Liverpool. This is his first novel.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780062386021
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 432
  • ID: 9780062386021
  • weight: 305
  • ISBN10: 0062386026

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close