The Deep Whatsis

The Deep Whatsis

By: Peter Mattei (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

Description

A gripping and hilarious satire of hipsters, consumerism, contemporary art, for fans of Bret Easton Ellis and Don Delillo. When a successful Advertising Executive meets a mischievous intern, his whole sensational existence begins to crumble around him.Eric Nye, a Chief Idea Officer at a New York advertising agency, is the ultimate corporate success story. Ruthless, talented and young, his employers pay him an extortionate amount of money to manage the `downsizing' of their company, which entails firing dozens of longtime employees before their pensions kick in.It's only when he meets `Intern' that cracks begin to show in his seemingly triumphant existence. Eric could have `Intern' any time he wants her. So why hasn't he? And why can't he stop thinking about her. Before long, what begins as sexual frustration becomes an existential crisis that causes Eric to question his careers, his relationships, even his sanity.Mattei's addictive debut follows its anti-hero's quest for contemporary self-identity in a toxic corporate world.

About Author

PETER MATTEI is a writer and director working in both theater and film, and has written pilots for HBO and other networks. Love in the Time of Money was his first feature film, which he wrote and directed. The script was developed at the Sundance Filmmakers Lab in 1998, and was inspired by Arthur Schnitzler's play La Ronde. He lives in Brooklyn.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780007524358
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 400
  • ID: 9780007524358
  • weight: 210
  • ISBN10: 0007524358

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close