The Golden Sisters: The sequel to Martha's Girls (Martha's Girls 2)

The Golden Sisters: The sequel to Martha's Girls (Martha's Girls 2)

By: Alrene Hughes (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

Description

A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close-knit, fiery, loving family - perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver. It's 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast. Martha's girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions. Irene, the eldest of the sisters, is struggling with the constraints of married life, until a chance meeting forces her to choose between romance and reality. Pat, intelligent and sensitive, is working in Stormont alongside William Kennedy. As their relationship deepens, she feels that real happiness could be within her grasp. Peggy, impulsive and glamorous, is thrilled when the charismatic Devlin offers her a job with the dance band at the Plaza Ballroom. But she soon sees his darker side... Sheila, the youngest, is blossoming into a young woman, though her family seem intent on treating her like a child. When will they accept her for the grown-up she is? Together, they are the Golden Sisters, singing their way to victory in concert halls and army camps. But the war is taking their lives in unexpected directions and Martha will need all her strength to help her girls find their way through these turbulent times.

About Author

Alrene Hughes was born in Enniskillen, grew up in Belfast and now lives in Manchester. She was an English teacher for twenty years and now writes full time. Her first novel 'Martha's Girls' was inspired by a family scrapbook of concert programmes and newspaper cuttings about The Golden Sisters - her mother and aunts. Her second book 'The Golden Sisters' was published in March 2015 and launched at the Northern Ireland War Memorial museum in Belfast. The final book in the WW2 trilogy 'A Song in my Heart' was published in June 2016. Alrene on Twitter: @alrenehughes Visit her website: www.alrenehughes.com

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780856409394
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 352
  • ID: 9780856409394
  • ISBN10: 0856409391

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close