The Goon Show Compendium Volume 12: Ten episodes of the classic BBC radio comedy series plus bonus features (Unabridged edition)

The Goon Show Compendium Volume 12: Ten episodes of the classic BBC radio comedy series plus bonus features (Unabridged edition)

By: Spike Milligan (author), Peter Sellers (reader), Harry Secombe (reader), Spike Milligan (reader)Audio Book

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£56.00 RRP £70.00  You save £14.00 (20%) With FREE Saver Delivery


Spike Milligan, Harry Secombe and Peter Sellers star in 10 rare episodes of The Goon Show, plus a plethora of bonus features. Immensely popular and hugely influential, the groundbreaking series The Goon Show changed the face of British comedy. This twelfth collection includes the episodes China Story, Foiled by President Fred, Tales of Old Dartmoor, The Macreekie Rising of '74, Robin Hood, Six Charlies in Search of an Author, Insurance - The White Man's Burden, The Red Fort and The Missing Ten Downing Street (aka Ten Downing Street Stolen), along with the 1972 reunion The Last Goon Show of All. Also included are numerous bonus archive items, including celebratory programmes Parkinson Meets The Goons and Heroes for a Time: 6 - The Goons. Here, too, are interviews and features taken from The Best of British Laughs: Peter Sellers, Robbie Vincent's Late Night London, It Takes All Sorts and more, as well as extracts from unedited studio recordings and rehearsals. Two illustrated booklets tell the story of the show's development with reference to original archive paperwork, plus the history of the recordings. Remastered using newly sourced material and the latest technology to give the best possible sound quality, these recordings are sure to appeal to all collectors of The Goon Show. Duration: 10 hours approx

About Author

Born in India in April 1918, Terence Alan `Spike' Milligan was a comedy writer and performer who created The Goon Show which ran from 1951 to 1960. Milligan soon established his own fresh style of comedy. A poet and a campaigning humanitarian, Milligan was universally acclaimed for his published war memoirs. Amongst his radio series were The Omar Khayam Show and The Milligan Papers as well as his television series such as A Show Called Fred, The Idiot'sWeekly Price 2d and later the Q series from Q5 to Q9. He died in February 2002.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781785294495
  • Format: Audio Book
  • running time: 711
  • ID: 9781785294495
  • weight: 485
  • ISBN10: 1785294490
  • translations: English
  • edition: Unabridged edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly