The Greatest Sedition is Silence: Four Years in America

The Greatest Sedition is Silence: Four Years in America

By: William Rivers Pitt (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


This passionate and controversial book is the work of one of America's most outspoken and talented new journalists. William Rivers Pitt's caustic critique of the last four years of American government gives voice to the growing tide of dissent and outrage with America's leaders both inside the country and in the wider world. Burning with anger, this incisive and readable book argues that, under George W. Bush, America makes a mockery of the values of liberty and truth that it purports to stand for, and that it is now more important than ever to speak out. William Rivers Pitt reveals how the crisis in America has been engineered by a group of Christian conservatives whose attempts in 1998 to bring down the Clinton government led to the preversion of the American electoral process, resulting in the illegitimate installation of Geroge W. Bush into the Presidency by five like-minded conservative Justices of the Supreme Court. In the aftermath of September 11th, America has in many senses lost its way. Citizens are counselled to "watch what they say" by the White House, just as questions of deadly import are ignored by the government and the media. In their rush to defend "liberty", George Bush and his allies are actually endangering the freedom of the individual, as laid down in international law. Yet how do we save freedom by limiting it? Why, after all this time, have there been no answers regarding what really happened on 9/11? Pitt's message is clear: seeking answers and demanding truth is not treasonous. In these dangerous days, with all that is at stake, the greatest sedition in America is silence.

About Author

William Rivers Pitt is an author and political analyst from Boston, MA. He recently published War on Iraq: What Team Bush Doesn't Want You To Know (Context Books) -- an interview with former UN Inspector Scott Ritter -- and his commentaries are regularly published by and many other Web news outlets.


Acknowledgements Introduction: A Book of Memory 1. The Dream That Was America 2. Twenty Pounds of Bullshit in a Ten Pound Bag 3. Enronomics 4. A Bright September Morning 5. The Light of the World 6. One Crazy Summer: The Media Before and After September 11th 7. American Elections: 2000 and Beyond 8. 'We The People' Means You Notes Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780745320106
  • Format: Hardback, Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780745320106
  • weight: 431
  • ISBN10: 0745320104

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly