The Hired Girl

The Hired Girl

By: Laura Amy Schlitz (author)Paperback

Only 1 in stock

£3.99 RRP £7.99  You save £4.00 (50%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz brings her delicious wit and keen eye to early twentieth-century America in a moving yet comedic tour de force. A humorous coming-of-age story that will appeal to fans of Anne of Green Gables and Little Women. Fourteen-year-old Joan Skraggs, like the heroines in her beloved novels, yearns for real life and true love. But what hope is there for adventure, beauty or art on a remote farm in Pennsylvania where the work never ends? Over the summer of 1911, Joan pours her heart out into her diary as she seeks a new, better life for herself - because maybe, just maybe, a hired girl cleaning and cooking for six dollars a week can become what a farm girl could only dream of - a woman with a future. Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz relates Joan's journey from the muck of the chicken coop to the comforts of a society household in Baltimore (Electricity! Carpet sweepers! Sending out the laundry!), taking readers on an exploration of feminism and housework; religion and literature; love and loyalty; cats, hats and bunions.

About Author

Laura Amy Schlitz, author of Fire Spell, A Drowned Maiden's Hair and the Newbery Medal-winner Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village has spent most of her life working as a librarian and professional storyteller. She has also written plays for young people that have been performed in professional theatres all over the US. She lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781406365931
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 480
  • ID: 9781406365931
  • weight: 330
  • ISBN10: 1406365939

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close