The Insomnia Poems

The Insomnia Poems

By: Grace Nichols (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£7.16 RRP £9.95  You save £2.79 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


In her latest collection, The Insomnia Poems, Grace Nichols explores those nocturnal hours when Sleep (the thief who nightly steals your brain) is hard to come by, and the politics of the day hard to shut out, never mind the lavender-scented pillow. Here memories of her own Guyana childhood mingle with the sleeping spectres of dreams and folk legends such as Sleeping Beauty. A lyrical interweaving of tones and textures invites the reader into the zones between sleep and no-sleep, between the solitude of the dark and the awakening of the light. The Insomnia Poems is Grace Nichols's first new collection since Picasso, I Want My Face Back (2009). Neither that collection nor this one is included in her Bloodaxe retrospective, I Have Crossed an Ocean (2010).

About Author

Born in Guyana, Grace Nichols has lived in Britain since 1977. Her first collection, I is a Long Memoried Woman (1983) won the Commonwealth Poetry Prize. Her later poetry collections - published by Virago - include The Fat Black Woman's Poems (1984), Lazy Thoughts of a Lazy Woman (1989), Sunris (1996), winner of the Guyana Prize, and Startling the Flying Fish (2006), poems which tell the story of the Caribbean, along with several poetry books for younger readers, including Come on into My Tropical Garden (1988), Give Yourself a Hug (1994), Everybody Got a Gift (2005) and Cosmic Disco (2013). She has published two books with Bloodaxe, her latest collection, Picasso, I Want My Face Back (2009), and I Have Crossed an Ocean: Selected Poems (2010), published on the occasion of her 60th birthday. Her latest collection, The Insomnia Poems, is due from Bloodaxe in 2017. She lives in Sussex with the poet John Agard and their family.


9 Once Again 10 One Night Comes Like a Blessing 11 The Projectionist 12 A Tale 13 Moon-mothers 14 An Insomniac's Attempt at Her Own Self-hypnosis 15 Another Day 16 At the Edge of the Table 17 In Search of Sleep 18 Nightmare 19 Wherever They Lie 20 To the Virgin of Guadalupe 21 Night-coos 22 Learning 23 Sleeping Legend 1: Sleeping Beauty 26 Night 27 Watershed 28 Tonight My Childhood 29 The Shadow-stealers 30 Diablesse 32 Our Pied Piper 33 Moon-calf 34 Rain Rain 36 Beyond the Dreaming Dark 37 Streams of Mercy 38 Snowdrops at the Hurst 39 Sleeping Legend 2: Rip Van Winkle 40 Insemination of Pig Between Sleep and Wake 41 The Accomplice 42 Parallel World 43 The Myoclonic Jerk 44 Close to the Edge 45 Dream Libation 46 Within the Gospels 47 Sleeping Legend 3: Gilgamesh 50 My Best Cure (for John) 51 The Long Haul 52 In the Meditating Dark 53 Starry Night 54 Adam to Eve 55 Naming 56 Baby Sleep 57 Dawn Speaks of Dawn 58 Twin Sisters 59 Reflecting on Pebble 60 Waking-up London 61 Guitar 62 The One You Don't See Coming

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781780373393
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 64
  • ID: 9781780373393
  • ISBN10: 1780373392

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly