The King's Mistress

The King's Mistress

By: Gillian Bagwell (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£8.27 RRP £8.99  You save £0.72 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

[Published as The September Queen in the US] Set against the volatile backdrop of the English Civil War, dive into this enthralling tale of danger, bravery, and a woman who would do anything for the man she loved. It's 1651 and Jane Lane leads a privileged life inside the walls of her family's home. At 25 years old, her parents are keen to see her settled, but Jane dreams of a union that goes beyond the advantageous match her father desires. Her quiet world is shattered when Royalists, fighting to restore the crown to King Charles II, arrive at their door, imploring Jane and her family for help. They have been hiding the king, but Cromwell's forces are close behind them, baying for Charles' blood - and the blood of anyone who seeks to help him. Putting herself in mortal danger, Jane must help the king escape to safety by disguising him as her manservant. With the shadow of the gallows dogging their every step, Jane finds herself falling in love with the gallant young Charles. But will Jane surrender to a passion that could change her life - and the course of history - forever? The unforgettable true story of Charles II's escape, and the love and bravery of the woman who made it possible. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

About Author

Gillian Bagwell has had a life-long love of books, British history, and theatre, and united these passions in writing `The Darling Strumpet', her first novel. She began her professional life as an actress, then moved from acting to directing and producing, founding The Pasadena Shakespeare Company, which she ran for nine years. She now lives in Berkeley, California. Please visit Gillian's website, www.gillianbagwell.com, for news on her books, articles, and links to blogs of her research adventures.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781847562593
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 416
  • ID: 9781847562593
  • weight: 290
  • ISBN10: 1847562590

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close