The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

By: Antonio Lobo Antunes (author), Margaret Jull Costa (translator)Paperback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.

Description

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, one of the twentieth century's most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World-in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa-recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator's evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

About Author

Antonio Lobo Antunes, born in 1942 in Benfica, is considered to be Portugal's greatest living writer. The author of more than twenty novels, including What Can I Do When Everything's On Fire?, he has won many awards and makes his home in Lisbon. Margaret Jull Costa is the award-winning translator of works by Eca de Quieros, Javier Marias, and Jose Saramago.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780393342338
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 224
  • ID: 9780393342338
  • weight: 180
  • ISBN10: 0393342336

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close