The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson: Volume Six, August 1887-September 1890

The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson: Volume Six, August 1887-September 1890

By: Robert Louis Stevenson (author), Ernest Mehew (volume_editor), Bradford A. Booth (volume_editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Robert Louis Stevenson, long recognized as a master storyteller and essayist, was also one of the finest and most delightful of letter writers. Yale University Press is now publishing the definitive edition of Stevenson's collected letters in eight handsomely produced volumes. The edition will contain nearly 2,800 letters, only 1,100 of which have been published before. Volumes III and IV cover the period from August 1879 to June 1884. The six hundred letters tell for the first time the full story of Stevenson's reckless journey to California as an "amateur emigrant," during which he gained a wife but wrecked his health. They describe his return to Europe and his futile search to improve his health in Scotland, Switzerland, and France and reveal interesting aspects of the writing of Treasure Island, Virginibus Puerisque (his first volume of collected essays), and many poems later collected in Underwoods and in A Child's Garden of Verses. Volumes V and VI cover the period from July 1884 to September 1890 and comprise over nine hundred letters. During this time, Stevenson lived as a chronic invalid for three years in Bournemouth, England; searched for improved health in the United States and the South Seas; and achieved fame and success with the Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Kidnapped, and A Child's Garden of Verses. The letters convey Stevenson's courage and gaiety in the face of illness and his affection for his family and friends. They also reveal the devoted care given him by his wife, Fanny Stevenson. Ernest Mehew's detailed annotation provides all the background necessary to fully enjoy Stevenson's letters.

About Author

Bradford A. Booth, who was professor of English at the University of California at Los Angeles and who died in 1968, originated this project. Ernest Mehew, who has worked on this edition for more than twenty-five years, is widely recognized as the leading authority on Stevenson's life and work.


Second visit to America; the quarrel with Henley - August 1887-July 1888; the cruise of the "Casco"; The Marquesa, Paumotus, Tahiti - July 1888-January 1889; five months in Hawaii - January-June 1889; Pacific voyages - the cruise of the "Equator", Samoa and Sydney; the cruise of the "Janet Nicoll" - June 1889-September 1890.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780300061918
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 456
  • ID: 9780300061918
  • weight: 925
  • ISBN10: 0300061919

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly