The Life and Solo Piano Works of the Ukrainian Composer Myroslav Skoryk

The Life and Solo Piano Works of the Ukrainian Composer Myroslav Skoryk

By: Victor Radoslav Markiw (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


This study includes interviews with Myroslav Skoryk as well as biographical information, historical and stylistic insights and expert analytical readings. This study concerns the life and solo piano works of internationally renowned Ukrainian composer Myroslav Skoryk (b. 1938). Chapter 1 provides biographical data and a general synopsis of Skoryk's stylistic development beginning with his student works from the 1950s. Chapter 2 presents a chronological analysis of his solo piano works, focusing on compositional style, recurring stylistic hallmarks, and his general maturation while presenting insights into the composer's incorporation of the disparate folk traditions of Ukrainian and American music. Chapter 3 provides a detailed analysis of a representative work, the Burlesque (1963), focusing on the formal and harmonic practice utilized by Skoryk. A significant aspect of this work is the interviews with Myroslav Skoryk (December, 2004), which reveal the composer's thoughts on his artistic and personal development, including the introduction of previously unrevealed insights. The Appendix provides an essential and convenient addendum for accessing the scores of each solo piano work discussed.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780773436909
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 172
  • ID: 9780773436909
  • ISBN10: 0773436901

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly