The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

By: Lyn Andrews (author)Paperback

In Stock

£5.75 RRP £7.99  You save £2.24 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future... A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin. Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone. Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father? What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl: 'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars 'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars 'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

About Author

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers. Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren. www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781472228772
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 368
  • ID: 9781472228772
  • weight: 254
  • ISBN10: 1472228774

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close