The L.M. Montgomery Reader: Volume Three: A Legacy in Review

The L.M. Montgomery Reader: Volume Three: A Legacy in Review

By: Benjamin Lefebvre (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


The final volume of The L.M. Montgomery Reader, A Legacy in Review examines a long overlooked portion of Montgomery's critical reception: reviews of her books. Although Montgomery downplayed the impact that reviews had on her writing career, claiming to be amused and tolerant of reviewers' contradictory opinions about her work, she nevertheless cared enough to keep a large percentage of them in scrapbooks as an archive of her career. Edited by leading Montgomery scholar Benjamin Lefebvre, this volume presents more than four hundred reviews from eight countries that raise questions about and offer reflections on gender, genre, setting, character, audience, and nationalism, much of which anticipated the scholarship that has thrived in the last four decades. Lefebvre's extended introduction and chapter headnotes place the reviews in the context of Montgomery's literary career and trace the evolution of attitudes to her work, and his epilogue examines the reception of Montgomery's books that were published posthumously. A comprehensive account of the reception of Montgomery's books, published during and after her lifetime, A Legacy in Review is the illuminating final volume of this important new resource for L.M. Montgomery scholars and fans around the world.

About Author

Benjamin Lefebvre, PhD, lives in Waterloo, Ontario, and is director of L.M. Montgomery Online. His previous publications include an edition of L.M. Montgomery's rediscovered final book, The Blythes Are Quoted.


Acknowledgments Abbreviations Introduction: A Legacy in Review Benjamin Lefebvre A Note on the Text 1. Anne of Green Gables (1908) 2. Anne of Avonlea (1909) 3. Kilmeny of the Orchard (1910) 4. The Story Girl (1911) 5. Chronicles of Avonlea (1912) 6. The Golden Road (1913) 7. Anne of the Island (1915) 8. The Watchman and Other Poems (1916) 9. Anne's House of Dreams (1917) 10. Rainbow Valley (1919) 11. Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920) 12. Rilla of Ingleside (1921) 13. Emily of New Moon (1923) 14. Emily Climbs (1925) 15. The Blue Castle: A Novel (1926) 16. Emily's Quest (1927) 17. Magic for Marigold (1929) 18. A Tangled Web/Aunt Becky Began It (1931) 19. Pat of Silver Bush (1933) 20. Courageous Women (1934) (with Marian Keith and Mabel Burns Mckinley) 21. Mistress Pat: A Novel of Silver Bush (1935) 22. Anne of Windy Poplars/Anne of Windy Willows (1936) 23. Jane of Lantern Hill (1937) 24. Anne of Ingleside (1939) Epilogue: Posthumous Titles, 1960-2013 Benjamin Lefebvre Sources Bibliography

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781442644939
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 464
  • ID: 9781442644939
  • weight: 830
  • ISBN10: 1442644931

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly