The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz: The Extraordinary True Story (Extraordinary Lives, Extraordinary Stories)

The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz: The Extraordinary True Story (Extraordinary Lives, Extraordinary Stories)

By: Denis Avey (author), Rob Broomby (author)Paperback

Up to 1 WeekUsually despatched within 1 week

£9.19 RRP £9.99  You save £0.80 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, After Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes the extraordinary true story of a British soldier who marched willingly into Buna-Monowitz, the concentration camp known as Auschwitz III. In the summer of 1944, Denis Avey was being held in a POW labour camp, E715, near Auschwitz III. He had heard of the brutality meted out to the prisoners there and he was determined to witness what he could. He hatched a plan to swap places with a Jewish inmate and smuggled himself into his sector of the camp. He spent the night there on two occasions and experienced at first-hand the cruelty of a place where slave workers, had been sentenced to death through labour. Astonishingly, he survived to witness the aftermath of the Death March where thousands of prisoners were murdered by the Nazis as the Soviet Army advanced. After his own long trek right across central Europe he was repatriated to Britain. For decades he couldn't bring himself to revisit the past, but now Denis Avey feels able to tell the full story - a tale as gripping as it is moving - which offers us a unique insight into the mind of an ordinary man whose moral and physical courage are almost beyond belief.

About Author

Denis Avey was born in Essex in 1919. He fought in the desert during the Second World War and was captured and held as a Prisoner of War in a camp near Auschwitz III. In 2010 he received a British Hero of the Holocaust award. Rob Broomby is a British Affairs correspondent for the BBC World Service. He was formerly the BBC Berlin correspondent and has worked as a broadcast journalist mainly with BBC Radio for more than twenty years.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781444714197
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 288
  • ID: 9781444714197
  • weight: 219
  • ISBN10: 1444714198

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close