The Night Brother

The Night Brother

By: Rosie Garland (author)Hardback

Only 1 in stock

£11.89 RRP £16.99  You save £5.10 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

`A rich and ambitious tale ... Garland's prose is a delight: playful and exuberant' THE TIMES From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative novel of adventure and belonging. Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city's streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair grow up, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, with only a dim memory of the dark hours. Confused and frustrated at living a half-life, she decides to take control, distancing herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself? Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern and with echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark...

About Author

Rosie Garland is a novelist, poet, performer and singer with post-punk band The March Violets. An eclectic writer, she started out in spoken word, going on to garner praise as a performance poet. Her award-winning short stories, poems and essays have been widely anthologised, and her sixth poetry collection, As In Judy, is out now with Flapjack Press. She is the author of Vixen, a Green Carnation Prize nominee. Her debut novel, The Palace of Curiosities, won Book of the Year in the Co-op Respect Awards 2013 and was nominated for both The Desmond Elliott and the Polari First Book Prize. She lives in Manchester and is currently developing a new musical project, Time-Travelling Suffragettes.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780008166106
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • ID: 9780008166106
  • weight: 580
  • ISBN10: 0008166102

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close