The Nothing That Is and the Nothing That Is Not: On Death, Dying, and Suffering

The Nothing That Is and the Nothing That Is Not: On Death, Dying, and Suffering

By: Steven Carter (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


The Nothing That Is and the Nothing That Is Not is the final volume in a trilogy on interpretations of otherness in the postmodern era. The first two volumes are A Do-It-Yourself Dystopia: The Americanization of Big Brother (University Press of America, 2002) and Leopards in the Temple: Selected Essays 1990-2000 (University Press of America, 2001).

About Author

Steven Carter is the author of five books of literary and cultural criticism, including Bearing Across: Studies in Literature and Science (University Press of America, 2002). In 1989 he was awarded the Schachterle Prize by the National Society for Literature and Science. In 2001 he became the only two-time winner of Italy's coveted Nuove Lettere International Poetry and Literature Prize. A former Senior Fulbright Fellow at two Polish universities, Professor Carter teaches at California State University, Bakersfield.


Chapter 1 Foreword by Franca Gerli Chapter 2 Author's Note to the Reader Chapter 3 Preface Chapter 4 Acknowledgments Chapter 5 Ghosts Chapter 6 A Mind of Winter Chapter 7 The Snow-Line Chapter 8 Why Not Me? Chapter 9 Intermission: The Grief of Tisha Rae Garza Chapter 10 Parable of the Universe Next Door Chapter 11 "A Bright Red Scream" Chapter 12 The Power of Beauty Chapter 13 L'Envoi: The Two Infinites

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780761830023
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 150
  • ID: 9780761830023
  • weight: 204
  • ISBN10: 0761830022

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly