The Original I Ching: An Authentic Translation of the Book of Changes

The Original I Ching: An Authentic Translation of the Book of Changes

By: Margaret J. Pearson (author)Hardback

Up to 1 WeekUsually despatched within 1 week

£11.95 RRP £12.99  You save £1.04 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


First among the ancient classics, the I Ching or Book of Changes is one of the world's most influential books, comparable to the Bible, the Koran, and the Upanishads. The I Ching's purpose is universal: to provide good counsel to its users in making decisions during times of change. Since its origins about 3,000 years ago, it has become a compendium of wisdom used by people of many cultures and eras. This groundbreaking new translation by Dr. Margaret Pearson is based on the text created during the first centuries of the Zhou Dynasty, study of documents showing how it was used in the dynasty, and on current archaeological research findings. Her translation removes centuries of encrusted inaccuracies to better reveal the I Ching's core truths for today's readers. Whether you are interested in trying this millennia-tested method of making wise choices or in understanding the worldview of the early Chinese, this edition is essential reading.

About Author

Margaret J. Pearson, Ph.D., studied Chinese literature with Hellmut Wilhelm, and history with Jack Dull and Chan Hok-la. She has taught Chinese history and thought, for over thirty years, at Skidmore College, the New School for Social Research, Pace University, State University of New York (Albany) and Marymount Manhattan College. She has been elected to life membership at Clare Hall, Cambridge University and to membership in the Early China Seminar at Columbia University.


Acknowledgments Introduction Understanding the Context of the Book of Changes About the Translation How to Use the Book of Changes The Original I Ching 1 The Creative 2 Earth, The Receptive 3 Sprouting 4 New Grass 5 Waiting 6 Strife 7 With a Multitude of Followers 8 Closeness with Others 9 The Smaller Herd 10 Stepping 11 Peace 12 Obstruction (Stagnation) 13 Friendship 14 Great Possession 15 Modesty 16 Excess 17 Following 18 Branching Out 19 The Forest 20 Gazing (Contemplation) 21 Taking a Bite 22 Elegance 23 Peeling 24 Returning 25 Not False 26 Great Nurturing 27 Jaws 28 Great Surpassing 29 The Abyss 30 The Net 31 Reciprocity, Respect 32 Duration 33 Retreat 34 Great Strength 35 Advancing 36 Wounded Light 37 Family 38 Double Vision 39 Impeded 40 Released (Untied) 41 Decrease 42 Increase 43 Resolute 44 The Royal Bride 45 Gathered Together 46 Pushing Upwards 47 Exhaustion 48 The Well 49 Molting (Shedding) 50 The Cauldron 51 Thunder 52 Stillness 53 Gradual Progress 54 Coming Home 55 Abundance 56 The Wanderer 57 Calculation, Choosing 58 Joy 59 Dispersion (Spreading Waters) 60 Limitation 61 Sincere to the Core 62 Minor Surplus 63 After the Crossing 64 Not Yet Across The Zhou Text Further Reading Bibliography How to Consult the Changes: Reference Summary

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780804841818
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780804841818
  • weight: 425
  • ISBN10: 0804841810

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly