The Orphans of Halfpenny Street (Halfpenny Orphans 1)

The Orphans of Halfpenny Street (Halfpenny Orphans 1)

By: Cathy Sharp (author)Hardback

Out of Stock

Description

Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope... It's 1947 and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven. One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice's strict regime. New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy's past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?

About Author

Cathy Sharp is happily married and lives with her husband in a small Cambridgeshire village. They like visiting Spain together and enjoy the benefits of sunshine and pleasant walks, while at home they love their garden and visiting the Norfolk seaside. Cathy loves writing because it gives pleasure to others, she finds writing an extension of herself and it gives her great satisfaction. Cathy says, `There is nothing like seeing your book in print, because so much loving care has been given to bringing that book into being.'

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780008118440
  • Format: Hardback, Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 512
  • ID: 9780008118440
  • weight: 360
  • ISBN10: 0008118442

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close