The Oxford Book of Lent and Easter Organ Music: Music for Lent, Palm Sunday, Holy Week, Easter, Ascension, and Pentecost

The Oxford Book of Lent and Easter Organ Music: Music for Lent, Palm Sunday, Holy Week, Easter, Ascension, and Pentecost

By: Robert Gower (editor)Other Formats

Only 1 in stock

£19.75 RRP £21.95  You save £2.20 (10%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


The Oxford Book of Lent and Easter Organ Music brings together a superb array of repertoire for use from Ash Wednesday through to Pentecost, providing a comprehensive volume for this extended liturgical period. The pieces-largely based on well-known hymn tunes-vary in style and length, suiting a range of purposes, from processionals and interludes to voluntaries and recital works. A range of technical difficulty makes the book useful for players of differing abilities, and clean and uncluttered scores leave interpretative decisions to the performer. An invaluable resource for a major part of the church year.

About Author

Robert Gower studied at The Royal School of Church Music before graduating from Oxford University with a music degree, subsequently working as Director of Music at Radley College, Oxfordshire and Glenalmond College, Perthshire. As an organist, he has broadcast extensively on BBC radio and performs recitals throughout the UK. His commitment to English twentieth-century repertoire is seen in his work as Chairman of the Gerald Finzi and Percy Whitlock charitable trusts and through his editorship of OUP's Finzi and Walton Organ Albums. He is the compiler of several Oxford organ collections.


Aus der Tiefe rufe ich ; O Mensch, bewein' dein' Sunde gross ; Toccata: Aberystwyth ; Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir ; Chorale Prelude: Abridge ; Aus der Tiefe ; Chorale Prelude: Martyrdom ; Valet will ich dir geben ; Prelude: Winchester New ; Valet will ich dir geben ; Wir setzen uns mit Tranen nieder ; Herzliebster Jesu ; Chorale Prelude: Caswall ; Meditation: Love Unknown ; Chorale and Variation: Herzlich tut mich verlangen ; Chorale Prelude: Rockingham ; Jesu Leiden, Pein und Tod ; Prelude: Were you there? ; Song 13 (Orlando Gibbons) ; Paraphrase on a chorus in Judas Maccabaeus (Handel) ; Variations: O filii et filiae ; I know that my Redeemer liveth, from Messiah ; Fantasy: Easter Hymn ; Variations: Noel nouvelet ; At Easter-tide ; Chorale Prelude on a Melody by Melchior Vulpius ; Heut' triumphieret Gottes Sohn ; Ricercare: Llanfair ; Fanfare: Gopsal ; Komm heiliger Geist, Herre Gott ; Chorale Prelude: Down Ampney ; Chorale Prelude: Hereford ; Veni Creator Spiritus ; Fanfare: Shine, Jesus, Shine

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780193386235
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 128
  • ID: 9780193386235
  • weight: 456
  • ISBN10: 0193386232

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly