The Second Man on the Rope: Mountain Days with Davie (2nd New edition)

The Second Man on the Rope: Mountain Days with Davie (2nd New edition)

By: Ian R. Mitchell (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£5.75 RRP £7.99  You save £2.24 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


What are the rules of etiquette in a bothy full of strangers? How cold, exactly, can a Scottish summer get? And how many cans of beer can a man carry whilst fording a swollen river? Second Man on the Rope tackles all these questions and more, a celebrating Scotland's mountains come sun, sleet or snow, through the stories of a great climbing partnership. Ranging from the Cairngorms to Glencoe, from Nevis to Knoydart and from the Cuillin to the Cobbler, this book weaves the story of a friendship amongst witty - and often alarming - tales of mountaineering mishaps. These richly entertaining tales will delight all who love the Scottish hills - be they mountaineers, day-outers, Munro-baggers (like the author) or merely armchair ramblers. Written with a wealth of knowledge, this mountaineering classic is a warm and witty celebration of friendship, forged over many years, between the author and his `first man' - Davie. Together they form one of the great double acts of climbing literature. They face with humour and fortitude all that the mountains can pit against them - winter avalanches, raging rivers, rats in bothies and Brummies in baseball boots.

About Author

IAN R. MITCHELL was born in Aberdeen but he's spent most of the last three decades wandering through mountains. He began walking and climbing in the Cairngorms in the 1960s, and he's since built up considerable knowledge of the Scottish Highlands and also further afield-the Alps, the Pyrenees and Norway. He now lives in Glasgow and is the author of several award-winning walking books. In 1991 he was jointly awarded the Boardman-Tasker Prize for Mountain Literature. He was also awarded the Outdoor Writers Guild Award for Excellence for his book Scotland's Mountains Before the Mountaineers.


Preface: Mountain Days in Thatcherzeit Chapter 1 Rover's Return Chapter 2 Lagan Behind Chapter 3 A Hourn Escape Chapter 4 A Torrid Affair Chapter 5 The End of Something Chapter 6 Coldsville Chapter 7 Cockaleekie Chapter 8 Fire and Ice Chapter 9 The Ridge and the Midge Chapter 10 Special Offer Chapter 11 The Ascent of Nymphet Crack Chapter 12 Before a Fall Chapter 13 Trench Warfare Chapter 14 Hohenweg Chapter 15 The Young Team Chapter 16 Forcan Terrible Chapter 17 Rats' Feet on Broken Past Chapter 18 Keeping Cuillin Difficulty Chapter 19 Crossing the River Chapter 20 Crowberry Curfew Chapter 21 A Short Walk With Our Publisher Chapter 22 Completing: The End of an Auld Sang

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781910745236
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 192
  • ID: 9781910745236
  • weight: 200
  • ISBN10: 1910745235
  • edition: 2nd New edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly