The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor: Opus 10

The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor: Opus 10

By: Arnold Schoenberg (author), Severine Neff (editor)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


For nearly a century, it has inspired composers, scholars, critics, performers, and visual artists. Severine Neff re-creates for her readers the quartet's historical, cultural, and musical background-its introduction of the human voice, its genesis during a personal crisis in the composer's life, the scandal at its premiere, and its endlessly controversial reception, both critical and analytic. This volume includes a newly edited, authoritative score of the quartet, as well as previously unavailable and newly translated texts by Grant Chorley. "Indispensable for understanding one of the central compositions of the twentieth century."-Walter Frisch, Columbia University.

About Author

Severine Neff, Ph.D. Princeton, Eugene Falk Distinguished Professor at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, is one of the foremost scholars in Schoenberg studies. She has received research awards from Arnold Schoenberg Center, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The Newberry Library, The National Endowment for the Humanities, and The Fulbright Association. She also has published in numerous journals including Music Theory Spectrum and has edited or translated several other books on Schoenberg and his music.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780393978025
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 352
  • ID: 9780393978025
  • weight: 460
  • ISBN10: 0393978028

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly