The Secret Lives of a Secret Agent Second Edition: Mysterious Life and Times of Alexander Wilson (US & International Edition) (2nd Revised edition)

The Secret Lives of a Secret Agent Second Edition: Mysterious Life and Times of Alexander Wilson (US & International Edition) (2nd Revised edition)

By: Tim Crook (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£16.99 RRP £19.99  You save £3.00 (15%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


The Second World War Chief of MI6 said Alexander Wilson had 'remarkable gifts as a writer of fiction, and no sense of responsibility in using them!' Wilson's three year career in the Secret Intelligence Service ended when the country's spy chiefs decided his creativity got the better of his grasp of reality. His 'secret lives' extended to his private life. Four wives and four families; not necessarily one after the other. This book, along with the memoir of his third wife Alison, is the foundation of the 'Mrs Wilson' series premiered in the USA by Masterpiece on PBS in 2019. The dramatisation stars his award-winning granddaughter Ruth Wilson who plays the role of Alison. Ruth is also one of the executive producers of the series broadcast by the BBC to critical acclaim in the UK at the end of 2018 with their highest audiences for midweek drama. Tim Crook unravels more of the mysteries of this extraordinary story in the second (US/International) edition of 'Alec' Alexander Wilson's biography.

About Author

Tim Crook is an investigative historian and journalist whose research and books have transformed lives. Alexander Wilson's son by his second marriage, Mike Shannon, described Tim as 'A Wizard' for uncovering the extraordinary and complicated life of his father and bringing all the Wilson families together. The second edition of 'Secret Lives' has become a best seller with reviews describing it as one of the best biographies of the year. Tim is currently Professor in Media and Communication at Goldsmiths, University of London, Visiting Professor of Broadcast Journalism to Birmingham City University, and Vice-President of the Chartered Institute of Journalists.


Preface, Contents, Chapter One- A very unusual funeral, Chapter Two- Gladys and children, Chapter Three - Dorothy and son, Chapter Four - Alison and sons, Chapter Five - Elizabeth and son, Chapter Six - The Buddha of St James's, Chapter Seven - `A Great Public Danger?', Chapter Eight - `One of the best' - Compton Mackenzie, Chapter Nine- Killing The Author, Chapter Ten - Scoundrel or Sentimental Crook? Chapter Eleven- Discovery, forgiveness and reparation, Appendices - Timeline and literary output, Bibliography, Illustrations.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781908842077
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 248
  • ID: 9781908842077
  • weight: 400
  • ISBN10: 1908842075
  • edition: 2nd Revised edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly