The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

By: Geoffrey Chaucer (author), Sheila Fisher (translator)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£11.19 RRP £13.99  You save £2.80 (20%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

In the tradition of Seamus Heaney's Beowulf and Marie Borroff's Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher's The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England's premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer's rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer's artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.

About Author

Sheila Fisher is a professor of English at Trinity College. She lives in Sandy Hook, Connecticut.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780393341782
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 800
  • ID: 9780393341782
  • weight: 600
  • ISBN10: 039334178X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close