The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book (3rd Revised edition)

The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book (3rd Revised edition)

By: Isabel Wyatt (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£6.47 RRP £8.99  You save £2.52 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Every night, before Sylvia goes to sleep, she whispers a magic spell to the rhyme-elves. In the morning her Wonder Book is filled with beautiful pictures and poems of her adventures and the extraordinary stories she has heard. There is nothing Sylvia loves more than stories; so every day she asks her mother, the old woodsman and even her fairy friend Sister-in-the-Bushes to tell them to her. They weave magical stories of clever princesses, far-away kingdoms, courageous knights, kind children and graceful fairies. During the day, Sylvia also has her own adventures: planting a fairy tree, meeting St Nicholas and venturing into the deep woods. But as she comes closer to her special seventh birthday, there is one extraordinary adventure left. This enchanting collection of tales, charmingly told by Isabel Wyatt, takes us through the highlights of the year as Sylvia and her friends celebrate festivals and birthdays.

About Author

Isabel Wyatt was born in England in 1901. She spent many years teaching young children and was then, until her retirement in 1965, co-director of studies at Hawkwood College in Gloucestershire. She wrote many books for children, including King Beetle-Tamer and The Book of Fairy Princes. She died in 1992.


Sylvia and the Sick Toys The Story of the Wood-Maiden Who Couldn't Dance The Poem of the Singing Sky Sister-in-the-Bushes The Story of the Star Twins The Poem of the Black Cloak and Hood The Making of the Fairy Tree The Poem of the Tree Makers The Dragon in the Sky The Story of Snowflake and the Dragon The Poem of Knight Michael Sylvia and the Old Woodsman The Story of the Lordly Cockerel The Poem of Wily, Lordly and Lowly Sylvia's Turnip Lantern The Story of Hugin and the Turnip The Poem of Hallowe'en Lanterns Sylvia and the Wicked Little Imp The Story of the Country at the Bottom of the Well The Poem of the Silver Cherry and the Golden Pear Sylvia's Advent Wreath The Story of Rufusi Ryneker The Poem of the Crown of Candles The Visit of St Nicholas The Story of Bella, Sophia and Little Bonita The Poem of the Golden Boy Sylvia's Painting The Story of the Tree that Dreamt a Flower The Poem of the Christmas Tree Getting Ready for Christmas The Story of Cordita and the Three Little Men The Poem of Kind Cordita Christmas Day The Story of the Apple Tree that Bore a Star The Poem of Eva's Apple Sylvia's Birthday Poem Sylvia's Birthday Sylvia and the Three Fairies The Poem of the Three Tooth-Gifts Sylvia and Elf Prince Frey The Poem of the Fairy Bread Sylvia and Peter

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780863159435
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 160
  • ID: 9780863159435
  • weight: 216
  • ISBN10: 0863159435
  • edition: 3rd Revised edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly