The Tuner of Silences (Biblioasis International Translation Series)

The Tuner of Silences (Biblioasis International Translation Series)

By: Mia Couto (author), David Brookshaw (translator)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£11.03 RRP £11.99  You save £0.96 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


A RADIO FRANCE-CULTURE/TELERAMA BEST WORK OF FICTION BY THE FINALIST FOR THE 2015 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE THE WINNER OF THE 2014 NEUSTADT PRIZE AND THE WINNER OF THE 2013 CAMOES PRIZE "Quite unlike anything else I have read from Africa."--Doris Lessing "By meshing the richness of African beliefs ...into the Western framework of the novel, he creates a mysterious and surreal epic."--Henning Mankell Mwanito was eleven when he saw a woman for the first time, and the sight so surprised him he burst into tears. Mwanito has been living in a former big-game park for eight years. The only people he knows are his father, his brother, an uncle, and a servant. He's been told that the rest of the world is dead, that all roads are sad, that they wait for an apology from God. In the place his father calls Jezoosalem, Mwanito has been told that crying and praying are the same thing. Both, it seems, are forbidden. The eighth novel by the internationally bestselling Mia Couto, The Tuner of Silences is the story of Mwanito's struggle to reconstruct a family history that his father is unable to discuss. With the young woman's arrival in Jezoosalem, however, the silence of the past quickly breaks down, and both his father's story and the world are heard once more. The Tuner of Silences has been published to acclaim in more than half a dozen countries. Now in its first English translation, this story of an African boy's quest for the truth endures as a magical, humanizing confrontation between one child and the legacy of war. PRAISE FOR MIA COUTO "On almost every page ...we sense Couto's delight in those places where language slips officialdom's asphyxiating grasp."--The New York Times "Even in translation, his prose is suffused with striking images."--The Washington Post PRAISE FOR DAVID BROOKSHAW "David Brookshaw dexterously renders the novel's often colloquial, pithy Portuguese into lively English. Brookshaw's task is made more exacting by the particular quality of Couto's brilliance."--The New York Times

About Author

Mia Couto, an environmental biologist from Mozambique, is the author of 25 books of fiction, essays and poems in his native Portuguese. Couto's novels and short story collections have been translated into 20 languages. Two of his novels have been made into feature films. His work has been awarded important literary prizes in Mozambique, South Africa, Portugal, Italy and Brazil. His books have been bestsellers in Africa, Europe and Latin America. Six of Couto's books have been translated into English in the United Kingdom: two short story collections by Heinemann and four novels by Serpent's Tail. David Brookshaw is a professor of Hispanic, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies at the University of Bristol (London), and the General Editor of the HiPLA Monograph Series. He is the translator of six books by Couto, including Sleepwalking Land and The Last Flight of the Flamingo.


BOOK ONE - HUMANITY I, Mwanito, the tuner of silences My father, Silvestre Vitalicio My brother, Ntunzi Uncle Aproximado Zachary Kalash, the soldier Jezebel the jenny BOOK TWO - THE VISIT The apparition The woman's papers Eviction order Second batch of papers Madness Orders to kill BOOK THREE - REVELATIONS AND RETURNS Leave taking A bullet bitten The immovable tree The book

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781926845951
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 224
  • ID: 9781926845951
  • weight: 255
  • ISBN10: 1926845951

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly