The Unquiet Heart

The Unquiet Heart

By: Kaite Welsh (author)Hardback

Pre-Order released 30th May 2019

£13.29 RRP £18.99  You save £5.70 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONS This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiance Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel facade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

About Author

KAITE WELSH is an Edinburgh-based journalist and author. Her writing has appeared in the Guardian, the Daily Telegraph and the New Statesman and she makes frequent appearances on BBC radio and television. Kaite has been shortlisted for both the Scottish New Writers Award and the Moniack Mhor Bridge Award, and most recently she is the author of The Wages of Sin.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781472239846
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 288
  • ID: 9781472239846
  • weight: 492
  • ISBN10: 1472239849

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close