The Valley Spirit: A Female Story of Daoist Cultivation (2nd Revised edition)

The Valley Spirit: A Female Story of Daoist Cultivation (2nd Revised edition)

By: Lindsey Wei (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£11.95 RRP £12.99  You save £1.04 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


A young woman, Lindsey Wei, graduates from high school in America and sets out to find her roots in China, questing for who she is and where her life path belongs. She discovers in herself a skill for martial arts and seeks the hidden knowledge of meditation. After three years of study in various martial styles and unveiling false teachers, she is finally led to the ancient Wudang Mountains. Here she meets a Daoist recluse, Li Shi Fu, who has renounced the world of the 'red dust' and long since retired into an isolated temple to cast oracles and read the stars. The coming together of these two extraordinary characters, master and disciple, begins a spiritual relationship taking the young adept on an unforgettable journey through the light and dark sides of modern China and deep into herself. Battling between earthly desires and heavenly knowledge, she makes the transformation into a dynamic and complete woman. A coming-of-age, personal account, the book describes the lived experiences of a profoundly sincere, bitter yet ultimately liberating female quest. It is written for anyone who ponders the true meaning of Chinese wisdom and the way of the Dao in the hope of discovering a deeper strength within themselves.

About Author

Lindsey Wei is a disciple of Li Shi Fu in a traditional Daoist lineage which stretches back thousands of years. She divides her time between living as a renounced practitioner in Wudang Mountain and teaching a select group of students in North America.


A Note on Translations, Scriptures and Phonetics. Prologue. 1. Guan Yin Hears Me. 2. Finding a True Teacher. 3. Li Shi Fu. 4. Axis of the Universe. 5. Day by Day. 6. Emmalina's Story. 7. Seven Star Sword and Eight Step Pure Yang. 8. Chun Yang Men. 9. Great Gong and Life Cultivation. 10. Dogma. 11. The Sea of Suffering (Selfish Love). 12. Becoming a Whole Woman (Snake and Bird). 13. Pigs and Fishes. 14. Flight of the Phoenix. 15. Take Refuge. 16. Elders. 17. Healing. 18. Train of Desire. 19. Internal Alchemy. Epilogue: Grinding the Needle. Sources.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781848191310
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 224
  • ID: 9781848191310
  • weight: 350
  • ISBN10: 1848191316
  • edition: 2nd Revised edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly