The Vanishing Box (Stephens and Mephist... | WHSmith Books
The Vanishing Box (Stephens and Mephisto)

The Vanishing Box (Stephens and Mephisto)

By: Elly Griffiths (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£11.89 RRP £16.99  You save £5.10 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

'A piquant mixture of humour, period detail . . . and truly beguiling characterisation' Financial TimesThe perfect Christmas mystery read for fans of Agatha Christie and Anthony HorowitzWinter, 1953. A young flower seller is found dead in her room at a Brighton boarding-house, posed with chilling perfection into a recreation of the death of Lady Jane Grey. This is a killer unlike any DI Edgar Stephens has encountered before.Across the city at the Hippodrome theatre, Max Mephisto is top of the bill in a double act with his daughter Ruby. Tarnishing the experience, though, is one of the other acts: a seedy 'living tableaux' show where barely-dressed women strike poses from famous historical scenes. Is the resemblance to the murder scene pure coincidence, or is life imitating art?When another death occurs - this time within the troupe itself - Max once again finds himself involved in one of Edgar's cases, and a threat that will come closer to home than anything before. What should be just a job is about to become personal.

About Author

Elly Griffiths was born in London. She worked in publishing for many years. Her bestselling series of Dr Ruth Galloway novels, featuring a forensic archaeologist, are set in Norfolk. The series has won the CWA Dagger in the library, and has been shortlisted three times for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Her Stephens and Mephisto series is based in 1950s Brighton. She lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist, and their two children.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781784297008
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 368
  • ID: 9781784297008
  • weight: 612
  • ISBN10: 1784297003

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close