The Vanishing

The Vanishing

By: Sophia Tobin (author)Paperback

In Stock

£6.47 RRP £8.99  You save £2.52 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

'Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker, and you have The Vanishing ... as dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on. One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' Stylist On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape... Already a Sunday Times bestselling author with her first novel, The Vanishing confirms Sophia Tobin as a rising star. Stunning, twisting historical fiction for fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier. `Undeniably page-turning' Mail on Sunday `Entertaining' Times `Vivid, absorbing and wonderfully gothic, with shades of Sarah Waters and Emily and Charlotte Bronte' Kate Riordan `Brilliantly Bronte-esque. Perfect reading for a stormy night' Anna Mazzola `A vivid sense of the period ... which stays with the reader long after the final page' the i `The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' Daily Express `Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' Daily Mail `Echoes Wuthering Heights with its setting and sense of intrigue' Red `An atmospheric tale of betrayal and revenge' woman&home `A thrilling, atmospheric page-turner' Metro

About Author

Sophia Tobin worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. Inspired by research she made into a real life eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write The Silversmith's Wife which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize, judged by Sophie Hannah. She is currently Library Secretary for the Worshipful Company of Goldsmith's and lives in London with her husband. Find out more at https://sophiatobin.wordpress.com/

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781471151620
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 400
  • ID: 9781471151620
  • weight: 315
  • ISBN10: 147115162X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close