The Virgin Blue

The Virgin Blue

By: Tracy Chevalier (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£6.47 RRP £8.99  You save £2.52 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

From the author of the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, this is historical fiction at its very best and perfect for fans of Rose Tremain, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. The compelling story of two women, born four centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them. Ella Turner does her best to fit in to the small, close-knit community of Lisle-sur-Tarn. She even changes her name back to Tournier, and knocks the rust off her high school French. But it is all in vain. Isolated and lonely, she is drawn to investigate her Tournier ancestry, which leads to her encounter with the town's wolfish librarian. Isabelle du Moulin, known as Le Rousse due to her fiery red hair, is tormented and shunned in the village - suspected of witchcraft and reviled for her association with the Virgin Mary. Falling pregnant, she is forced to marry into the ruling family: the Tourniers. Tormentor becomes husband, and a shocking fate awaits her. Plagued by the colour blue, Ella is haunted by parallels with the past, and by her recurring dream. Then one morning she wakes up to discover that her hair is turning inexplicably red...

About Author

Tracy Chevalier is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, Remarkable Creatures, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, and The Lady and the Unicorn. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son. She has a website at www.tchevalier.com.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780007241460
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 368
  • ID: 9780007241460
  • weight: 250
  • ISBN10: 0007241461

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close