This Close to Happy: A Reckoning with Depression

This Close to Happy: A Reckoning with Depression

By: Daphne Merkin (author)Paperback

In Stock

£9.35 RRP £12.99  You save £3.64 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Daphne Merkin has been hospitalised three times: first, in grade school, for childhood depression; years later, after her daughter was born, for severe postpartum depression; and later still, after her mother died, for obsessive suicidal thinking. Recounting this series of hospitalisations, as well as her visits to myriad therapists and psychopharmacologists, Merkin fearlessly offers what the child psychiatrist Harold Koplewicz calls "the inside view of navigating a chronic psychiatric illness to a realistic outcome." "The opposite of depression," she writes with characteristic insight, "is not a state of unimaginable happiness ... but a state of relative all-right-ness." Written with an acute understanding of the ways in which her condition has evolved as well as affected those around her, This Close to Happy is an utterly candid coming-to-terms with an illness that many share but few talk about, one that remains shrouded in stigma. * For readers of Andrew Solomon and Ariel Levy * National Indie Bestseller

About Author

DAPHNE MERKIN's writing frequently appears in The New York Times, Bookforum, Departures, Travel + Leisure, W, Vogue, Tablet Magazine, and other publications. She is a former staff writer for The New Yorker and The New York Times and a regular contributor to ELLE. Merkin has taught writing at the 92nd Street Y, Marymount College, and Hunter College. Her previous books include Enchantment, which won the Edward Lewis Wallant Award for best novel on a Jewish theme, and the collections of essays, Dreaming of Hitler and The Fame Lunches, which was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. She lives in New York City.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781250159298
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 304
  • ID: 9781250159298
  • ISBN10: 1250159296

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close