Tudor Rebellions (Seminar Studies 6th New edition)

Tudor Rebellions (Seminar Studies 6th New edition)

By: Diarmaid MacCulloch (author), Anthony Fletcher (author)Paperback

In Stock

£22.79 RRP £23.99  You save £1.20 (5%) With FREE Saver Delivery


Tudor Rebellions, now in its sixth edition, gives a chronological account of the major rebellions against the Tudor monarchy from the reign of King Henry VII until the death of Queen Elizabeth I in 1603. It also throws light on some of the main themes of Tudor history, including the dynasty's attempt to bring the north and west under the control of the capital, the progress of the English Reformation and the impact of inflation, taxation and enclosure on society. This new edition has been thoroughly revised to take into account the exciting and innovative work on the subject in recent years and bring the historiographical debates right up to date. It now includes additional documents and extended discussions to bring to life the complex events and politics of the rebellions. The primary sources, alongside a narrative history, allow students to fully explore these turbulent times, seeking to understand what drove Tudor people to rebel and what sort of people were inclined to do so. In doing so, the book considers both `high' and `low' politics, and the concerns of both the noble and the unprivileged in Tudor society. With supplementary materials including a chronology, who's who and guide to further reading along with maps and images, Tudor Rebellions is an invaluable resource for all students of Tudor history.

About Author

Anthony Fletcher was Professor of History, University of Essex. Diarmaid MacCulloch is Professor of the History of the Church Faculty of Theology and Religion in the University of Oxford. His previous publications include Reformation: Europe's House Divided, 1490-1700 (2003), A History of Christianity: the first three thousand years (2009) and Silence: a Christian History (2013).


Preface to the Sixth Edition Acknowledgements Chronology Who's Who Maps Part One: The Background 1. The shape of Tudor society 2. Ideas of submission, ideas of justice Part Two: Descriptive Analysis 3. Taxation and Rebellion 4. The Lincolnshire rising and the Pilgrimage of Grace 5. The Western Rebellion 6. Robert Kett and the 'Rebellion of Commonwealth' 7. Wyatt's rebellion 8. The Northern Rebellion 9. Epilogue Part Three: Assessment 10. Rebellion and Tudor Government Part Four: Documents Further Reading References Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781138839212
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 192
  • ID: 9781138839212
  • weight: 336
  • ISBN10: 1138839213
  • edition: 6th New edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly