Twelve and Counting: The National Championships of Alabama Football

Twelve and Counting: The National Championships of Alabama Football

By: Kenneth Gaddy (editor), Kenneth Gaddy (contributor), Mal Moore (foreword_author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


Alabama football is a story of winners who have established a legacy of excellence, and ""Twelve and Counting"" tells that glorious story by focusing on each of the twelve times, so far, that The University of Alabama football team has won the national championship. Dating back to 1925, when Wallace Wade coached the Crimson Tide to an undefeated season and earned a spot in the Rose Bowl, the driving goal of every season has been that ultimate prize. When Alabama defeated Washington 20-19 in that Rose Bowl, celebrations occurred throughout the South, and the Crimson Tide became known as 'Dixie's Football Pride'. At every whistle-stop from Texas through Louisiana and into Mississippi, fans of all ages crowded depots to get a glimpse of the Tidesmen who had brought prestige to southern football by defeating the West Coast power.With such now-legendary players as Johnny Mack Brown and Pooley Hubert among them, the team was mobbed in Tuscaloosa as they paraded from the railroad station to the Quad for a celebration never before experienced in the Deep South. There would be many more crowning moments for the Crimson and White. A winning team surfaced the very next year, when Wu Winslett's squad sealed the national championship at the Rose Bowl for a second time; then winning seasons and bowl games culminating in the coveted crown followed again in '30, '34, '41, '61, '64, '65, '73, '78, '79, and '92. Among the many outstanding coaches and players associated with these national championships and covered in this book are Frank Thomas, Dixie Howell, Don Hutson, Jimmy Nelson, Holt Rast, Pat Trammel, Sam Bailey, Lee Roy Jordan, Harry Gilmer, Bill Lee, Ken Stabler, Joe Willie Namath, Gary Rutledge, Randy Billingsley, Barry Krauss, Clem Gryska, Gene Stallings, and, of course, the legendary Paul 'Bear' Bryant.But football is a team sport, and it is the story of the whole teams that came together with such dedication, hard work, and pride - and a common principle of competing at the highest level - that is detailed in the first 12 chapters of this book. A 13th chapter looks at the uncrowned teams listed in the media guide as the 'other 5', those Alabama teams considered national champions by at least one national ranking service.

About Author

Kenneth Gaddy is Director of the Paul W. Bryant Museum in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Mal Moore has been a part of Alabama football for almost four decades - as a member of Coach Bryant's first recruiting class in 1958 and on the 1961 championship team, later as a coach, and currently, as the Crimson Tide's Director of Athletics.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780817316440
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780817316440
  • ISBN10: 0817316442

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly