Viola Time Sprinters + CD: A third book of pieces for viola (Viola Time)

Viola Time Sprinters + CD: A third book of pieces for viola (Viola Time)

By: David Blackwell (composer), Kathy Blackwell (composer)Other Formats

Only 1 in stock

£8.51 RRP £9.25  You save £0.74 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Viola Time Sprinters is the third book in this hugely successful series, building on the firm technical and stylistic foundations of Joggers and Runners. You'll find pieces in first, second, and third position, as well as a range of bowing techniques, including spiccato, hooked bowing, and string crossing. The book includes original pieces in different styles, pieces by a range of composers, and duets with parts of equal difficulty, together with a CD of performances and backings. Straightforward piano accompaniments are available in a separate volume.

About Author

Kathy Blackwell, B. Mus. (Hons.), LTCL, LGSM, studied music at Edinburgh University and continued with post-graduate studies in music at the University of Oxford. Kathy is a string teacher with many years experience of teaching violin and viola. She developed her teaching ideas at the coalface in both Music Services and in private practice, working with groups large and small and in one-to-one lessons. She was a strings consultant for the ABRSM Music Medals initiative, a new assessment specifically designed for students taught in groups, and a contributor to the accompanying book All together! Teaching Music in Groups (ABRSM, 2004). Her teaching experience has led her to co-author Fiddle, Viola, and Cello Time, published by Oxford University Press, with her husband, David. Kathy and David have presented workshops in the UK, Australia, Hong Kong, and Singapore. David Blackwell studied music at Edinburgh University, after which he pursued a career in music publishing, first at ABRSM and then at Oxford University Press. He is co-editor of OUP's In the Mood: 17 Jazz Classics for Choirs and Carols for Choirs 5, and has published a number of single choral arrangements. He is co-writer with his wife Kathy of OUP's award-winning string series, Fiddle, Viola, Cello Time, and String Time, which have twice won the MIA award for Best Educational Publication. He now works as a freelance music editor, composer and arranger. In 2017 Kathy and David Blackwell received two awards: from ESTA UK in recognition of their exceptional services to string teaching, and from the Oxfordshire Music Education Partnership for significant contribution to music education in Oxfordshire and beyond.


Ready to rock ; Clear skies ; Ode to joy from Symphony No. 9 ; Song from the show ; Starry night ; Paris cafe ; Gaudete! ; Jacob's dance ; Sprint finish ; Bolero ; William Tell ; Country gardens ; You and me ; The road to Donegal ; Full circle ; Thirsty work ; Farewell to Skye ; Lady Katherine's pavane ; Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy from The Nutcracker ; Allegro in D ; Blair Atholl ; Still reeling ; Mexican fiesta ; Show stopper ; Spy movie ; Largo from the New World Symphony) ; Hornpipe from the Water Music ; Hungarian folk dance ; Wild West ; Midnight song ; Wade in the water ; Dominant gene ; Chromatic cats ; Show off! ; Little lamb ; Habanera from Carmen

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780193360815
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 32
  • ID: 9780193360815
  • weight: 156
  • ISBN10: 0193360810

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly