Vivienne Westwood

Vivienne Westwood

By: Ian Kelly (author), Vivienne Westwood (author)Paperback

Out of Stock


Vivienne Westwood is one of the icons of our age; fashion designer, activist, co-creator of punk, global brand and grandmother; a true living legend. Both her name and brand are recognised the world over, whilst at home in the UK she has attained National Treasure status as the nation's favourite fearless female icon. This is her story. Told for the first time in all its glamour and glory and with her unique voice, unexpected perspective and passionate honesty: 'The living deserve respect. The dead deserve the truth; Ian and I are working together on this and I am excited that this will be my story, the story nobody ever did before.' For the first and only time, she is both writing and collaborating on a unique personal memoir and authorised biography: partly her own voice, partly through contributions from her vast network of friends, family and associates. Ian Kelly (award-winning biographer of, amongst others, fashion maverick Beau Brummell and the original self-publicist, Giacomo Casanova) brings the insights of a historian and friend of Vivienne to the life and works of one of the major influences of our age in this wonderful, insightful collaboration.

About Author

Dame Vivienne Westwood is a leading fashion designer and political activist. She was awarded an OBE in 1992 and a DBE in 2006. Ian Kelly has written prize-winning biographies of Casanova, Beau Brummell, and Antonin Careme. He combines this with acting, from the art-historian in Lee Hall's The Pitman Painters to Hermione's father in the final instalments of the Harry Potter films.


Chapter - 1: Everything is Connected Chapter - 2: The Girl in the Utility Dress Chapter - 3: Let it Rock Chapter - 4: Mrs Westwood's Wedding Dress Chapter - 5: The Dirty-Turquoise Skirt Chapter - 6: Sex at the World's End Chapter - 7: New York Doll Chapter - 8: God Save the Queen Chapter - 9: Thurleigh Court Chapter - 10: Pirate Princess Chapter - 11: Maid in Italy Chapter - 12: Culture Club Chapter - 13: Fraulein Kronthaler Chapter - 14: `Dowager Empress West' Chapter - 15: Climate Revolutionary Chapter - 16: The River Flows On Section - i: Chronology: A Life in Fashion and Activism Acknowledgements - ii: Acknowledgements Section - iii: Notes on Sources Index - iv: Index Section - v: About the Author

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781447254140
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 464
  • ID: 9781447254140
  • weight: 738
  • ISBN10: 1447254147

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly