Waiting For Hitler

Waiting For Hitler

By: Midge Gillies (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£8.27 RRP £8.99  You save £0.72 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

The perfect follow-up for readers of Dunkirk, Hidden Britain, Finest Hour and other gripping, personal accounts of life during the Second World War. In late summer 1940, Hitler told his army to prepare to invade England. The nation waited, breathless with tension, for the Nazi threat to become real. Acclaimed author Midge Gillies gathers together the personal accounts of those who still remember this time, with written sources from contemporary press reports, to diaries and letters, to illustrate and recreate the fear, suspense and even excitement of living in England in the shadow of the Nazis. A pair of sisters, determined that life should go on as normally as possible, carry on swimming and playing tennis - only to find themselves under suspicion of being sympathisers because of their seemingly carefree attitude. A group of former poachers and gamekeepers huddle in a woodland hideout, newly trained and prepared to blow up bridges and slit German throats. Citizens hide their most treasured possessions from the Nazis in biscuit tins, or bury them in graveyards. Over the weekend of September 7th, the code word for high alert flashed round the country, and with tensions at their height many assumed it to mean that the Nazis had already landed. Sunday September 8th was declared a National Day of Prayer - and seemed to many to be the beginning of the end. This is a compelling and evocative account of what it was like, for that short period in 1940, to be waiting for Hitler.

About Author

Midge Gillies is the acclaimed author of Amy Johnson: Queen of the Air and Marie Lloyd: The One and Only. She is also a freelance journalist who writes regularly for the Guardian and the Press Association. She acted as consultant and contributor to the Channel 4 documentary The Real Amy Johnson, drawn from her biography of Johnson.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780340837993
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 368
  • ID: 9780340837993
  • weight: 260
  • ISBN10: 0340837993

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close