Where Roses Never Die

Where Roses Never Die

By: Gunnar Staalesen (author), Don Bartlett (translator)Paperback

Only 1 in stock

£4.49 RRP £8.99  You save £4.50 (50%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

September 1977. Mette Misvaer, a three-year-old girl disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home. Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found. Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum, in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed. When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge... Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers. 'Mature and captivating' Herald Scotland `One of the finest Nordic novelists - in the tradition of Henning Menkell' Barry Forshaw, Independent `Masterful pacing' Publishers Weekly `Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces' Financial Times `Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin `A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo `One of Norway's most skilful storytellers' Johan Theorin

About Author

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for crime fiction. He lives with his wife in Bergen. Don Bartlett completed an MA in Literary Translation at the University of East Anglia in 2000 and has since worked with a wide variety of Danish and Norwegian authors, including Jo Nesbo and Gunnar Staalesen's Varg Veum series: We Shall Inherit the Wind, Wolves in the Dark and the Petrona award-winning Where Roses Never Die. He also translated Faithless, the previous book in Kjell Ola Dahl's Oslo Detective series for Orenda Books. He lives with his family in a village in Norfolk

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781910633090
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9781910633090
  • ISBN10: 1910633097
  • translations: Norwegian

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close