Wildfire at Midnight

Wildfire at Midnight

By: Mary Stewart (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£8.27 RRP £8.99  You save £0.72 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on an unforgettable ride across the Isle of Skye in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times 'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent 'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald Following a heart-breaking divorce, Gianetta retreats to the Isle of Skye hoping to find tranquillity in the island's savage beauty. But shortly before her arrival a girl's body is found on the craggy slopes of the looming Blue Mountain, and with the murderer still on the loose, there's nothing to stop him from setting his sights on Gianetta next . . . One arrogant wing of rock thrust itself across the sun, flinging a diagonal shadow over the bay. My eye was drawn to the great lonely bulk of the mountain in the east, stooping over the valley like a hawk. Blaven. The Blue Mountain. 'Stylish, educated novels . . . a natural successor to Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte' Guardian 'There are few to equal Mary Stewart as an entertainer' Daily Telegraph

About Author

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century's bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children's books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781444710984
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 288
  • ID: 9781444710984
  • weight: 204
  • ISBN10: 1444710982

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close