Women Authors of Detective Series: Twenty American and British Authors, 1900-2000

Women Authors of Detective Series: Twenty American and British Authors, 1900-2000

By: Moira Davison Reynolds (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


While the roots of the detective novel go back to the 19th century, the genre reached its height around 1925 to 1945. This work presents information on twenty British and American women who wrote during the 20th century. As a group they were responsible for the great popularity of the detective novel in the first half of the century. The British authors are Sora Turnbull (Patricia Wentworth), Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Elizabeth Mackintosh (Josephine Tey), Gladys Mitchell, Margery Allingham, Edith Pargeter (Ellis Peters), Phyllis Dorothy James White (P.D. James), Gwendolyn Butler (Jennie Melville), and Ruth Rendell, and the Americans are Patricia Highsmith, Carolyn Heilbrun (Amanda Cross), Edna Buchanan, Kare Gallison, Sue Grafton, Sara Paretsky, Nevada Barr, Patricia Cornwell, Carol Higgins Clark, and Megan Rust. A flavor of each author's work is provided.

About Author

The late Moira Davison Reynolds, a retired biochemist, wrote about women who made significant contributions to United States culture, including several books about activists, artists, authors and scientists. She lived in Marquette, Michigan.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780786409822
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 190
  • ID: 9780786409822
  • ISBN10: 0786409827

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly