Women of the Dunes: the tale of a family mystery that lies buried in the wilds of Scotland

Women of the Dunes: the tale of a family mystery that lies buried in the wilds of Scotland

By: Sarah Maine (author)Hardback

In Stock

£14.69 RRP £20.99  You save £6.30 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

The new novel from the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2018! **** On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together... In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound. Women of the Dunes is the new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft. Praise for Sarah Maine: 'An echo of Daphne du Maurier' - Independent 'Maine adroitly weaves together the three strands of her novel' Sunday Times 'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' - The Times 'Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...' - Kirkus

About Author

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to England for university. She studied archaeology and for many years worked in the profession but is now a freelance writer and researcher. Sarah's debut novel The House Between Tides (previously Bhalla Strand 2014) was re-published by Hodder & Stoughton in 2018. Beyond the Wild River (2017) is her second novel and Women of the Dunes will be published in 2018.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781473684898
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • ID: 9781473684898
  • weight: 645
  • ISBN10: 1473684897

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close